Home Forum General Chat Introductions G'day from Glen Forrest

This topic contains 4 replies, has 1 voice, and was last updated by  Wilbur 4 years, 1 month ago.

Viewing 5 posts - 1 through 5 (of 5 total)
  • Author

Wilbur

Hey guys, Dave Wilcox here, but Wilbur will do to avoid confusions.

I’ve been working in the Aluminium Extrusion industry for the past 7 years as an Extrusion Press Operator and more recently as an Apprentice Die Corrector. I’m currently winding up my Cert III Fitter/Machinist training and will be following this up with a Cert IV in CNC/CAD in the middle of the year.

[INDENT]I’ve been looking at getting a few machines for home now that I’ve got some skills under the belt so I can start tinkering around and playing with some ideas. I also have a couple of little PTFE projects on the go for a friends lab (using work machines) which would be much more convenient in the comfort of home.[/INDENT]

You guys seem to genuinely know what’s going on and seem pretty open to throwing ideas around and helping each other out. It’s refreshing. Would be good to have a chat and maybe catch up the next time you guys decide to meet.

Cheers.

Paul Kelly
    Participant

Welcome Wiblur. Lots of expertise on this site.. What machines are you looking to get?

PK

Wilbur

I’m on a budget of $5000 so I can’t go too crazy. Just looking for a lathe and mill to get started. Our work lathe is a $15,000 chinese piece of junk so I don’t really trust the cheaper ones, unless you might know otherwise.

Was looking in the AL250 price point but will probably go for the AL320 for the extra room. 26mm spindle bore seems a little restrictive.

As for the mill it will probably Be somewhere in the HM46-48 range.

I’m not very electrically savvy. Are these able to run off single phase 240v power or will I have to upgrade to higher amp power points or buy a phase converter. My landlord is a sparky so shouldn’t be too much of an issue of that’s the case.